And…we’re back

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

In Bangkok. And on wordpress.

It’s confusing, I know, dear loyal readers of 2. But as for the former—Bjorn got to choose where we lived this year. And as for the latter: I think gokarlmans.com got hacked as I can no longer access it. So now we are back again, back again to where it all started.

“But why did it take you about a year to write another post?” none of you may be asking. I am delighted to non-answer and will instead try to pack everything we have done since the last post into this one. Hurrah!

As you may or may not recall, we were in Bangkok in November of 2013 as our plans for India were hijacked by visa problems. For Christmas that year we headed to my ancestral home of Southern California (I’m sure my ancestors would’ve picked this area as their home if they could’ve, anyway.)

February: We head back to Bangkok.
March: Visa run to Laos.
May: Quick jaunt to Singapore.
June/July: Went to a friends’ wedding in Mindanao, Philippines.
July: Relaxed in Koh Chang. Later that month left for a supposedly 2-week trip back to California which then extended 3 months (Pro-tip, if you fly with EVA Air, they let you change your flights for FREE.)
August: Splash about in Hawaii.
September: Good times with Chuck E. Cheese in Las Vegas.
October: New niece is born! Another trip to Vegas. Vision-setting in Reno. Back in Bangkok. Bjorn’s parents arrive 3 days later. Hilarity, hijinks and trip to Chiang Mai ensue (separate post forthcoming. I know, I know: How many times have you heard that one?)

And I haven’t even begun to talk about the service: surprisingly sassy Thai orphans, horror and hope at the IDC, projects that don’t work out the way you hoped they would and the tragicomedy of redoing not only my parents’ front yard, but also their back yard, using 45 large bags of pea gravel that we had to haul around ourselves. (Oh all right, Bjorn did do most of the hauling as I became so weary that I would sometimes emit hyena bursts of laughter out of stupefaction.)

As I write this post, I realize there’s no way I could actually write enough to capture what happened previously. So I’m hoping you just scroll down through Bjorn’s Facebook page. KIDDING.

I do wish I had written more of this year down. My memory’s not what it used to be, you know. But I’m just gonna keep going (Karlman.)*

Here’s to the next step on the journey!

 

 

*See what I did there? πŸ˜€

6 thoughts on “And…we’re back

  1. Welcome back. You should have just written a 10,000 word post on all your adventures, posted dozens of photos and pretended like you never disappeared for a year from this blog. Why are you in a wheelchair? Why are little kids flashing the peace sign? Why is Bjorn hanging with a nun? Why is Manny on a bus…so many questions…

    • LOL I totally should’ve. πŸ™‚ And you know Bjorn makes friends wherever he goes, hence his picture with a nun and the little kids (who flashed the peace sign on their own. I didn’t even have to prompt them. Huzzah! :D) as to the wheelchair: My mom has an extra one and I was feeling really sick, so… πŸ™‚

    • Jones, I keep laughing every time I think of that moment. I can’t even finish telling that story to others before I’m laughing with tears in my eyes. πŸ˜€ And you never know where we’ll end up next. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

